Couples who marry in Indiana are required to obtain a marriage license prior to the marriage. To apply for a marriage license, both spouses must go to the Clerk’s office in person in the county in which either spouse resides. Non-Indiana residents must apply for a license in the county in which they are getting married. Clerk’s offices may currently have limited hours, be closed to walk-in appointments, or have other requirements in place due to the pandemic. It is best practice to call the Clerk’s office or to visit the website for the Clerk’s office to determine how that county is operating.
In order to obtain a marriage license, both applicants must be eighteen years of age, or seventeen years of age with parent permission, or sixteen years of age with a court order. The applicants must bring identification and proof of residency. Proof of residency may be a valid driver’s license, current state-issued identification card, original certified birth certificate, military identification, passport, or consular card. Proof of residency may be a rental lease, valid driver’s license, state identification card, or current utility bill. Applicants will also be required to provide their Social Security Number. If an applicant was previously married, they will need to provide the date of their divorce, and some counties require a certified copy of the divorce decree.
A marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days. If the spouses do not get married within sixty (60) days, a new license will be required. The fee for a marriage license for Indiana residents is $25 and for out-of-state residents is $65.
A clerk’s office cannot issue a marriage license if either applicant is under the influence of drugs or alcohol when applying; applicants are more closely related than second cousins; either applicant has been found to be incapacitated; either applicant is a lifetime sex or violent offender, unless the individual submits an affidavit stating under the penalties of perjury that the individual has provided written notice of the person’s (A) intent to marry, and (B) intended married name; to the local law enforcement authority in the county of conviction and in the person’s county of residence.
After the marriage, the officiant must mail the signed marriage license to the clerk’s office. A copy of the certified marriage license will then be mailed to the married couple as proof of their marriage. Additional copies of a marriage license are available for request, and individuals can look up marriage licenses at the following website: